Thursday, September 15, 2011

The Friday Phonograph


by Anne French

Formed in 1969, The Cleveland String Quartet has been lauded as one of the premier quartets of our time. For a time they were the quartet in residence at the State University of  NY at Buffalo, my alma mater, and I was fortunate enough to become well acquainted with their work. I was quite excited to find some clips of their recordings with Emanuel Ax posted on YouTube, and I simply had to share. This breathtakingly beautiful movement from Schumann's Piano Quartet is a wonderful example of their exquisite performances, and Emanuel Ax is the perfect pianist for this undertaking. If you haven't heard the ensemble before, prepare yourself for a rare treat.

1 comment:

vehicle tracking system said...
This comment has been removed by a blog administrator.